The Official Website For The Tasman Sydney Motor Sport Park

Posts Tagged ‘2008’

Category Focus: Formula Ford


Formula Ford has been a hugely popular series of racing in Australia for over 40 years.

The Historic Formula Ford Category caters for Formula Ford racing cars with competition histories from 1969-1983.

Chassis include Elfin, Lola, March, Bowin Reynard and Corsair.

For more information visit:


Trent Wallis Photo Gallery: Tasman Revival 2008


Fabulous photo Gallery from the 2008 Tasman Revival Meeting.

Images: Trent Wallis

Car Profile: Ferrari 246T 0004


Owner: Graham Adelman – Virginia USA

Drivers: Graham Adelman / Rob Hall

This Ferrari was built in 1967 as a type 166 F2 car with a 1600cc V6 engine but was upgraded to 2.4 litre Tasman specification for the use of Chris Amon in the 1968 series.

Amon was runner up in the series to Jim Clark’s Lotus 49 with wins in the NZ GP at Pukekohe and at Levin, and second place finishes at Wigram and In the AGP at Sandown. The Sandown race was notable for a well remembered close battle in which Amon finished only 1/10 sec behind Clark in what was Jim’s last victory.

On its return from the Tasman series the car was converted back to 166 specification and was driven with some success by Tino Brambilla in European and South American F2 events during 1968 and 1969. It is one of only three Tasman Ferraris built and has been owned by various collectors in the USA since the early 1970’s.

Graham Adelman recently acquired one of the original 2.4 litre Tasman V6 engines and the Tasman Revival will see the cars first appearance since its restoration to full Tasman specification by Hall and Hall in the UK.

Tasman Revival 2008: F5000 Thunder from turn 9

Great clip of the F5000 monsters exiting the turn 9 hairpin.

Tasman Revival 2008: Onboard in a Bug Eye sprite

Some excellent onboard race footage featuring XYZ in a Sprite

Video: 2008 Tasman Revival, Repco Tasman Cup

Great piece of fan footage taken from the main straight grandstand. Turn it up.